Failing all courses?

I'm coming from a very strict education-oriented family and currently, I'm failing all my courses. Based on a 100 percent grading scale, I'm only getting 90/100 in science, 87/100 in religion, 93/100 in music, 89/100 in math, 88/100 in french, 91/100 in art, 85/100 in geography, and worst of all, 85/100 in english! I'm not getting a single 95! Please help :(

0|0
4|9

Most Helpful Guy

• Lolz.

Grades mean shit, my dear. Don't worry about it. I was a straight A student, both in high school and college--I swear to you, they mean nothing whatsoever.

Don't sweat it.

1|0
    0|0
    • Haha try explaining that to a dad who used to get100s all through school, no sweat. Or to a mom who's friends children are all IB/AP programmes and doing better than me :P

• Show All
    • ^^^Thanks that was really helpful. I dunno about you, but living in a Chinese family with friends who all have higher GPAs then me is actually really depressing. University competition is pretty brutal in my area and I'm already aware that our education system does not stack up to Europe's so I have to at least by one of the best in our system

• @teaddicted
      I can see where you would think that, but let's lay off the heat a little, ok? No need for fireworks :)

@asker
      Yeah, I've seen how stressful it can be for Chinese students to deal with family pressures around grades. Compared to other cultures, they have a very strict faith in grades (which I think is unwarranted, but still...), so your situation doesn't surprise me.

The most important thing is simply not to let yourself get stressed from it. And one of the keys to that is use time-limits for study, and also schedule breaks and recreation time--your body and mind NEED to recover from exertion, whether physical or mental, and if you don't plan in time to recover, it will affect your performance.