A Game Design degree? Worth it or not?

Hi everyone. First, sorry for my English .

I want to study Game Design in Europe . I heard that most of the game designers have freelance jobs and they have a hard time to find a full time job. Is it true? To be honest, I'm not 17 and have no time to waste. Is it really worth to study in Game Design?

0|0
2|9

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm studying Game Design in the US, and it is worth it. Yes, it's not easy to have a stable job cause you're usually hired to do one game, but you get payed very good cause it's not an easy job. Also, studying game design will make you able to do other type of jobs like films (the program Maya is both used by filmmakers and game designers), or Graphic art, since Photoshop is a major tool in Game Design.
    Therefore, by studying game design you're not just preparing for the gaming industry, but also for other industries like film or advertising.

One of my teachers told me that as a Game Design student, you're gonna spend lots of nights at home studying, making projects, so you won't have a great college life, but once you graduate and get a job, it's when your good life starts, since you'll be getting a great salary. You will have to work at home to, cause you have to be on schedule, but if you organize well, it's gonna be great.
    He studied something related to film, but he got a job in a gaming company and he loved it, so he decided to stay in the gamin industry.

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 8

• like n every design degree, the degree itself is worth nothing. if you don´t do a lot of extra stuff that makes you better then all the others, you won´t find a decent job.

1|1
    0|0
    • This is true. Your degree maters little, what really matters is the quality of your designs, your portfolio is the most important thing.

• The gaming industry is a very competitive one.
    It would be good if you are good at drawing, that's a huge plus.