Why do people automatically assume that I must be single because I have two kids?

So, I have two children. I am married and have been since I was 18. No, we didn't have sex before marriage so please save yourself on the whole 'Sex Before Marriage Is A Sin' speech. I am graduating college in next Friday . My husband and I own our house outright. Actually, everything we have is owned out right. I am a social worker, my husband is a lawyer. However, I have recently asked two questions. Both of which I mentioned that I had two children. People automatically assumed that I was a disgrace because I was a single mother whom nobody would want to marry and some have even stated (upon me telling them I was married) that my husband must be rich and that is why I married at such a young age. Mind you, my husband isn't rich. And he wasn't even a lawyer when I married him. I had just graduated high school and he was in his 3rd year of college at this point. Why do people automatically put people into catergories upon hearing a very minimal amount of information about them? I mean, c'mon now! I came to this site because it was fantastic and people were so nice! Now, 6 months in everyone is turning ignorant and hostile! I have been married six years! My son is four and my daughter is two. I am so tired of such ignorance.

0|0
1|4

Most Helpful Guy

• Okay uhm... I haven't seen any of the two questions you mentioned. Regardless, this is just what I thought about all of this: