Is macroeconomics something I should consider studying?

I'm going into the engineering field.. Many people told me that I should study businesses... So is macroeconomics something I should consider?

Updates:
To be extra sure.. What do I need to learn to be great in engineering?

0|0
1|7

Most Helpful Guy

• Thanks for the mentioning by my friend. However, I am actually not majoring in Macroeconomics. Actually, I am majoring in Accounting and minoring in Mathematics, but I passed a introductory macroeconomics course.

I am not very sure on engineering field, but I know that many engineering majors require a strong mathematical background. Thus, many engineering students who I know have to learn Calculus III and higher and more complex mathematical courses.

If you went to study business, you do not need strong mathematical background. Normally, Calculus I is enough for undergraduate business students. But compared with non-business students, you need more "soft" skills, such as how to show people your plan, and you have to care more about your social activities.

Economics major also require a strong mathematical and statistical background, so if your are not good on mathematics and statistics, then do not go that way.

But since you are 14 now, I think you still have a lot of time to consider which field you want to go in. If your mathematics was not good, then I am sure that business is the best place for you.

Wish I provided some useful suggestions. :)

0|0
    0|0
    • Engineering is definitely the field I want to go into for sure. Engineering is my passion so is MIT!! I am very good at mathematics and statistics. I am one of the 4 percent that scored the highest of the United States. I am sure that I want to become a engineer. I will study hard.

• Yeah, then keep your advantage into your high school and eventually into your college/university/institute and you will make it.