How do Scientists make money?

I'm hoping to get into biology when I'm older and study predatory animals (Specifically birds of prey and big cats). But I've always been wondering how those people make their money.

0|0
3|11

Most Helpful Guy

• Okay. I was a Molecular Biologist. Here are the general places you get money:
    1: academic research. You survive on grants and teaching at a colleg. You have to do research
    2) Sales for a biotech/drug/ or Scientific company (pays well)
    3) Private sector. Pharma pays the best, but Biotechs and scientific companies
    4) Government (NSF/CDC/NIH) pay is lousey but ok
    5) Get an ancillary degree (law, medicine) private sec
    6) Ad agencies (Scientific writing, account management, other things) pays well
    8) defense contractors/cia - you might not like what you are doing but they love biologists

0|0
    0|0
    • I understand that the government and companies give you grants for research and all that, but does what you're researching have to be something new that no one else has done? And what about money just for yourself like for food and clothes and stuff?

• Show All
    • So the company pays you money needed for the researchers and materials, and the university pays you for yourself?

• no, most grants com from the NIH. NOT companies. But yes. And for that you need to conduct research and teach and get grants

What Girls Said 3

• They get grants for their research and many are professors/lecturers alongside their research, so they get an annual salary from the academic institution that they work at. Or if they work in industry, they'll just get a salary from the organisation they work for. It varies.

0|0
    0|0
  • If they work at a university, they get grants for research and draw a salary for teaching classes. There are some strict research institutions, but unless you work for a zoo, you'll be relying on grants almost exclusively for your income. I think.

0|0
    0|0