Euthanasia - what are peoples views on this?

I have been thinking about this a lot lately and it is a very challenging subject. Should someone have the right when very sick or in capable of living "normally" to ask to die so they dont have to suffer no more? Or is it wrong?

Yes? No? Im not sure?

• Yes
    62% (8)77% (10)69% (18)Vote
  • No
    15% (2)23% (3)19% (5)Vote
  • Sitting on the fence
    23% (3)0% (0)12% (3)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy
Updates:
Adding to this i was speaking to someone the other day, if euthanasia became legal would people take advantage of it and just get rid of people they dont want around anymore?

0|0
7|2

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm a pediatric nurse, so I work with kids, not adults.

I work with a lot of children who have genetic conditions, metabolic conditions, severe cerebral palsy or other brain injuries, etc. Many of these kids have a very low quality of life. They cannot talk, eat (they're fed through a tube), walk, some barely even move their bodies on their own. Some have uncontrolled seizures, some are in a lot of physical pain. Some have respiratory issues, many are frequently hospitalized for aspiration pneumonia (basically, food ends up in their lungs from reflux or vomiting and they end up with a bad infection). And so on.

Some parents choose to make their children "DNR" (do not resuscitate), which means that if their child were to go into severe cardiorespiratory distress or arrest, we wouldn't perform CPR or other invasive life-saving interventions. They understand that their children have a poor quality of life and that prolonging their lives is not necessarily the best or most compassionate thing to do.