Anyonelse experienced a fear for the future when they got into College?

I mean this anxiety or worry about if you will turn out to be who you want to be? If you will be working on your dream job or not? If you will like the course you chose?

I want to know if anyonelse was hit by this fear almost as soon as they started college.

Updates:
And for me, this fear sometimes greatly impaired my work... :/

0|0
1|6

Most Helpful Guy

• You know my mum used to tell me over and over again when i was younger (i was a slow learner in school btw) "Son, Expectations reduce joy in life". When you expect things to work out according to your minds brilliant plan and when they don't, this brings fear and anxiety and tension to you. Yes you should have goals and aspirations but they should not cause pain and tension in you. When i studied engineering all those years ago, i did it because i wanted to learn about it and had a passion for it... but i did not build this picture in my heard that one day i'm going to be a greatr engineer and work for a hugh sace company and become an astronaut... no no no... i just studied because i wanted to learn... nothing more... years later my engineering knowledge would become useful when i entered the finance world and was able to apply my anaylitical skills to become a very successful investor.

You have this fear because you expect to be someone someday... you should drop this feeling... do it because you love it... and you never know where it can lead you, more often that not... to even be better than your expectations...

Expectations in life reduce joy... goes for relationships too :)

1|0
    0|0
    • I agree. That has certainly taken all the fun out of it. For someone that used enjoy learning, I started to feel repulsion towards it (almost fear).

It had gotten better. Even if not completely well.

Thank you for your kind words

• Show All