Why do Meat eaters always compare vegan activists to religious extremists?

and say that vegans claiming the high ground is like religous people claiming the moral high ground on things like gay marriage?

0|0
4|7

Most Helpful Girl

• Hmmm I eat eggs and milk products but I don't eat animal flesh. And, I find it saddening how many people think vegans are pushy maniac animal worshipers. One day I would like to either 1) go vegan or 2) raise my own meat and have my own chickens (milk isn't a necessity) so... as soon as I take the step from vegetarian to vegan, I'll become a self righteous animal right's zealot?

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Well, I could go into biology as did @hellionthesage already, but I'm not an expert in this field, so I'm gonna put it into very simple words. See, even if I grant you that eating animals or their byproducts is ethically wrong (or at least questionable), believe it or not: I can live very well with that. I can live with that without feeling bad in the slightest. Why? Because I do what I believe lies in my power to do.