Is drinking alcohol prohibited in Christianity?

0|0
6|17

Most Helpful Girl

• My interpretation is that having a drink here and there is ok. Drinking to get drunk is not.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• That would depend on which denomination you ask. Fundamentalist Baptists prohibit it. Catholics do not.

I cannot recall a specific passage in the New Testament banning it and there are in fact references to its consumption by Jesus and his disciples.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 5

• I'm no expert but I believe being a drunk is a sin. The act of consuming alcohol isn't. Even Jesus drank wine in the bible no?

1|0
    0|1
  • Getting drunk is prohibited

0|0
    0|0
  • I see priests drink wine all the time, so I'm guessing no.

0|0
    0|1
  • No, I don't think so. I'm catholic and I haven't heard that

0|0
    1|2
    • Catholics only?

• I can't speak for other religions but in my religion the bible says nothing about not drinking alcohol

• Well, considering Jesus made water into vine, I'd say no it isn't, drink away.

0|0
    0|1

What Guys Said 16

• No. If you knowingly and willingly drink to excess, that's when it's wrong. If you just have a few drinks with family or friends, you're fine.

2|0
    0|0
  • No. Jesus himself turned water into wine.

A prohibition on alcohol consumption has been imposed onto some denominations of the faith by those with anti-alcohol ideologies; such ideologies are at best only weakly and partially rooted in scripture.

0|0
    0|0
  • I wouldn't say prohibited but moderation and abstinence would be encouraged.

2|0
    0|0
  • Given that the first miracle attributed to Jesus Christ is turning water into wine, I think not.

0|0
    0|1
  • From what is written in the Bible Christians are not supposed to drink alcoholic beverages. This is very much misconstrued where people think it's okay as long as you drink but don't get drunk.

0|0
    0|0
    • Does this mean Jesus is going to Hell?

• Show All