Girls, Are any of you feminists? What are feminists really about?

I only have assumptions about what a feminists is. I assume it is girls who are against men treating girls unequally and are fighting for equal rights? I am not claiming that that is the truth, it is just what I assume because of the lack of knowledge I have about feminists and what a feminist really is. Any feminist girls able to explain to me what you are really about? Cause I feel like I support feminism, and girls right to be treated as complete equals to men.

0|0

Most Helpful Girl

What Girls Said 12

• I'm a feminist. I agree with what you said, I am against women being treated unfairly - though we should realise that it's not just men that treat women badly, feminism deals with women doing it too, as well as society as a whole. (I'm also against men being treated unfairly)

2|0
    0|0
    • Hmm... I am still learning about feminism. Why are women treating other women badly? There was a point in history when all women were under the control of men, and were restricted of their rights. Women had to fight for their rights, and they had to fight to get where they are today, why would some want to ruin what they fought for by treating other women badly?

• Show All
    • You make a good point there, i can't argue that. This world just needs more people like you, and more feminists. I prefer to wear really tight girls jeans rather than baggy mens jeans. But i get judged by others for being a guy wearing girls jeans and i hate it. I like your world views, dont change it.

• Internalized misogyny. It's a huge problem fer sher.

• You're correct about what it is - it is simply about being treated as equals and respected as human beings. The rest of the specific issues we focus on stem from there...