Too poor to marry?

So I have student loans and I'm a teacher. I realized that I'm simply too poor to ever have a family. I'm healthy and fertile, but I might as well have skipped paying for school and gotten a vasectomy instead.

Anyway, just a PSA for anyone thinking of going into teaching: don't. And if you go to college, get a degree for a high paying field or don't bother going.

0|0
3|2

Most Helpful Girl

• Sad state of affairs indeed

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Dude I've seen dudes who work in mcdonalds part time with me who are married

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 2

• ... i find this so insulting. I'm doing teaching and i believe the salary i will earn will be just fine to start a family. my mum, auntie and uncle are all teachers and they are nowhere near poor. they work hard and they find their job rewarding.

i plan to teach till my health no longer allows me to, and this kind of negative nancy talk isn't going to stop that. dont ruin someone else's dream just because yours didn't work out the way u planned.

0|0
    0|0
    • Except your family didn't graduate with college debt like it is today.

And frankly, as a guy, I have to calculate the cost of marriage differently than a woman--in the event of a divorce (which, come on, is a 50/50 chance today), family law almost always works in favor of the woman. In which case, I have to factor in the potential fallout of a divorce and various payments like alimony and/or child support, in addition to legal fees. After looking at those, it's pretty clear I'd be financially crippled, and at my age and the timeline I can foresee for marriage/divorce, I'd be in my early 40s and honestly a bit too old to sensibly ever get into a relationship again (much less being able to afford it).

Maybe the math works differently for you as a girl. If so, congratulations, I envy you that, since I would like to marry, but clearly it isn't realistic to do so.