What did you study/ are studying?

Had 3 options and I took business computer science and humanities (re history and geography)

0|0
8|5

Most Helpful Girl

• I studied Forensic Science and Nursing.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• The education system in Switzerland works quite differently from the one in America or most other countries of the world for that matter. Contrary to most countries, university in Switzerland is not something everyone goes to. Only about 15-20% of the population actually make it to Uni, because the type of high school and the exams you have to pass in order to be permitted into University are extremely tough. When I was in high school, I didn't do too many other things than studying. The reason for this is because Switzerland has something we call a "dual system". In this system, only the really academic subjects are taught at University level. So you have to be academically talented and into the theoretical stuff (perhaps with the exception of medicine). For everything else (becoming a nurse, carpenter, sales agent, interpreter, game designer, farmer etc, you name it), so for all the more practically oriented jobs, you either have to attend a different type of higher education (where the level is not quite as high as at a university) or you would make an apprenticeship, which is socially very much accepted and not looked down at, contrary to some other countries.