When should I ask for a raise?

so I've been working at this pizzeria for around 3 months now, should I wait another month or 2 before asking for a raise?

i only work two days a week and one of those shifts is only 5 hours while the other is 7 hours.

i make minimum wage, so what would be a reasonable amount when I eventually do ask?

0|0
2|3

Most Helpful Girl

• LOL. Now, dude. Do it if you feel. I remember working at Taco Bueno for awhile and I felt that I was due a raise. So I asked. I was told that I would get it after a few weeks but I quit before then.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• First, you must line up a job somewhere else that pays more, or if it pays the same minimum, it is closer to you, or it has better working conditions, or it offers more learning opportunity, or some other such advantage. Then you can give notice and offer to stay--for a raise. That way, you are bargaining with something, rather than with nothing.

Be prepared to follow through and change jobs if the boss says no, however. The way to win is NOT to "bluff".

In this economy, however, the sad truth is that you may be doing the best you can and asking for a raise is simply not feasible.

0|0
    0|0
    • there is no other job, I'm lucky that I even found this one

• Then I hate to say it, but you need to just grin and bear it. Suggestions:
      1. Can you learn anything on the job, like operating the register and not just making the pizzas, or vice versa? Think of it as a way to *not* be bored out of your mind on the job.
      2. Can you become the manager's "lead", or "right hand man", namely, someone that s/he can delegate some authority to so s/he can go focus on the rest of the job? That experience would give you future leverage for asking for a raise, and applying for better jobs elsewhere in the future for that matter.