Is the age of 30 to old to learn a foreign language?

I'm 30 and want to learn Hebrew and Arabic.

0|0
7|10

Most Helpful Guy

• No, not too old, but Hebrew and Arabic are both very challenging languages. If you actually want to learn them well enough to read scripture, you're in for a long haul. Learning them for the purpose of conversation and travel is a much lower bar. You can communicate smoothly in day-to-day conversations (albeit in a limited way) after only a few months of effective study, but really understanding and interpreting religious texts (as you mentioned was a goal) will be a multi-year proposition at a minimum. :)

But no, you're certainly not too old. Way to go and good luck. :)

0|0
    0|0
    • Let me know how it goes. :) And many thanks. (Shukran. :) )

What Guys Said 9

• You are never too old to learn, so long as this is what you want to do, go for it! :-)

0|0
    0|1
  • Nope. I started learning ASL after 30 and there were people in my office learning French in their 40s.

0|0
    0|0
  • Of course not! People learn foreign languages at any age, even in 20 or 30 years time it's still possible :D

0|0
    0|0
  • haha 30 is not too old, But all these people saying you are never too old are wrong. I had a 65 year old Japanese man be in my grade 1 ( there are 4 grades ) Mandarin class for 4 years.

0|0
    0|0
  • You're never too old to learn a language! Providing you really want to do it and are willing to put in the time and effort to learn how to write/read/speak it then you should definitely go for it!

0|0
    0|1
  • Never too late. But how do you plan on learning though?

0|0
    0|0
  • If your asking i dont think its the age... i think its you thats going to have a hard time

0|0
    0|0
  • Like another user said, you're always young enough to learn new things.

0|0
    0|0
  • Your brain does not absorb it as quickly.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 7