Snake or spider as a pet?

I can't decide. I have no experience with exotic pets, only cats. So I'm thinking of a corn snake or tarantula spider.

• Snake
    57% (13)29% (4)46% (17)Vote
  • Spider
    4% (1)21% (3)11% (4)Vote
  • Eww!
    9% (2)7% (1)8% (3)Vote
  • Neither
    30% (7)36% (5)32% (12)Vote
  • Both
    0% (0)7% (1)3% (1)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
17|7

Most Helpful Girl

• Go for the snake, though make sure you educated yourself on all it needs to survive beforehand. A terrarium and all the electricity will take up space and cost some money.
    And why do you want a snake or a spider in the first place? Do you just want it because you think it's cool? If the answer is "yes" then maybe you shouldn't get one..

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• A well fed boa constrictor may have no personality but it will "like" you due to your body heat and tame to your handling. It will tuck its tail into your pocket or belt loop and its head will end up on your shoulder against your neck, where it can stay warm and survey the scene. I routinely handled a 9-footer in the past..

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 16

• I've had both as pets, and snakes are much better pets, in my opinion, though I generally don't like corn snakes, and they're not what I'd recommend as your first snake.

0|0
    0|0
    • I feel like I should expand on that :P Okay, so if you're looking for your first snake, you want something that isn't aggressive or difficult to handle and isn't too fast - corn snakes are generally quite fast and they're also not the most friendly of snakes, from what I've experienced. They're cheap though, and their colours are beautiful, so in that regard, they make great pets. But, personally, I would recommend investing a little more and going for a ball python or a rosy boa, they're much wider than corn snakes, but they also tend to be much slower and aren't quite as nippy.