Can Any Koreans Cook? What Asians are able to cook?

I live in Korea and absolutely no one is able to cook, everyone is shocked that I can cook things and assumes i'm an expert when they see my food.

The reason I ask is I don't even think most restaurants chef's can cook either. For example the Korean barbeque involves them putting a plates of food stuck together and you boil it in the middle of the table
like so

Can Any Koreans Cook? What Asians are able to cook?

I noticed it's the same in Japan too, I met chef's that can't cook either

0|0
2|1

What Girls Said 2

• Well, we have different ways of preparing food in my country, so when I was first introduced to Asian food, I did not find it that appealing because I felt it lacks seasoning and flavors. However, by time, I understood the style and got used to it and realized it is just the style that is different, but it's not actually bad if try to understand the flavors from a different point of view. Sometimes you need to explore styles which you are not used to.

I didn't find Korean food that appealing before as well, but I recently went to a Korean restaurant, and they actually impressed me. I think you need to visit a good quality restaurant to explore better options.

0|0
    0|0
    • Restaurants in korea are absolutely everywhere because no one can cook. You're never further than a quarter km away from multiple. I've eaten in at least 80 different places. The point is the ingredients and quality can vary but the way to make it is all the same and requires no cooking experience beyond removing food from the bbq before it looks burned