Do you think it is good or bad for parents to have there children believe in Santa clause? Or should children be raised with science and reason?

0|0
6|5

Most Helpful Girl

• I like seeing children believe in Santa Claus, because I've noticed that it often gives young children a much more creative outlook on life. If such magic can exist, what else could there be out there? When I was a child and I believed in Santa Claus, I used to lay in bed wondering what other mystical beings lived out there. I channeled that into writing about my little speculations, and I'm now a pretty decent writer who is planning on making a journalism career for myself. I also used to look up all sorts of different things that lead from my belief in Santa Claus, such as origins of myths and such. I feel as if simply believing in a magical person who wants nothing more than to care about little me gave me hope that there could be non magical people out there who would care about the little folks as well. Santa Claus gave my small childish heart something to believe in, and it gave me hope. Being the only child to not believe in higher powers can be depressing and sort of isolating as well.

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Doesn't really matter much either way to me. Most adults still believe in fairy tales anyway what with American politics, astrology, and religious fundamentalism. I doubt that Santa Claus is really significant in the grand scheme of things. I'd rather teach them the true story of St. Nicholas of Myra and the virtues they could emulate from it.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 5