How can I stop biting my nails?

I have been biting my nails for at least 11 years and I need to quit. I bite them until they start to bleed and half of my nail bed is showing. My nails are extremely weak and snap really easily.

What are some ways to stop?
Im sick of ugly nails

Updates:
And I like wearing nail polish but I just pick it off, so I can bite my nails

0|0
12|15

Most Helpful Guy

• Dip your nails into something you really can't stand, really hot hot sauce or something.

1|0
    0|0
    • But won't that burn the cuts and the nail bed?
      I have like no nail left, half my nail is gone

• Show All
    • Bet a sharpie just taste nasty :))

And you will beat it dudette, i believe in you :)

• Thanks so much for MHO, Dudette :D <3

Most Helpful Girl

• taking non toxic markers and drawing on yourself
    doodling in notebooks
    tapping your fingers
    twirling your hair

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 14

• I do the same thing. I've actually gotten to the point where I'm biting the edges of my nails... Like. The skin there. Yeah. But, I put some clear nail polish on my nails (they also have nail strengthening clear polish, which is what I use and seems to work to make them harder). It tastes bad. You might find yourself going to bite your nails out of habit, but then realize "oh shit, I can't". Of course, you have to constantly have it on them. And you also have to make it a conscious decision to pull yourself back when you try to bite them.

Make sure you're eating healthily and getting daily exercise. If your nails are extremely weak, there might be a reason for that. Lack of proper nutrition. You can lose hair, teeth, nails, and damage your brain if you don't eat enough. A daily multivitamin might help, as well.