Should the USA ban guns?

What is your opinion on guns? ( I don't think they should be " banned " )

Updates:
( by the way i don't think gun's should be banned )

0|0
15|49

Most Helpful Guy

• I support the right to own guns... to a point. I'm a former Army officer and I don't think anyone outside the military should have weapons like the AR-15, M4, AK-47 or other weapons like them. Those weapons have been designed for one purpose, the quick and efficient killing and maiming of people.

I've heard the argument many many many times. I'm a huge fan of the Constitution (one reason I got my degree in US History). I'm of the firm opinion that the framers intended the 2nd Amendment to be used as a safeguard to keep a federal government from preventing civilians from forming militias. We have standing militias now. I know, I was a part of one of them.

The country we live in now is vastly different from 1789. Our gun laws need to reflect that.

Will regulating the sale and possession of guns prevent all gun crime? Of course not, and no reasonable person is saying it will. Locks only keep honest people honest. But if we can reduce the amount that gun crimes happen, if we can reduce the times when irresponsible and untrained people who guns to disastrous effect, if we can make it just THAT much harder for some lunatic to get his hands on a weapon that can inflict mass casualties... shouldn't we try?

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 48