Do you think its fair or unfair for guys to always buy Valentines day gifts?

Tradition has it it is the guy that buys the present and pay for the date even if during normal days the bill is split.

• fair because of tradition
    31% (5)25% (3)29% (8)Vote
  • unfair but play along
    31% (5)8% (1)21% (6)Vote
  • its 2016 and that is BS
    38% (6)67% (8)50% (14)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
9|3

Most Helpful Girl

• Um we never do this it is either both of us getting something for the other or neither. I don't really like gifts on Valentine's. It too close to Christmas and my birthday is only a few months before Christmas so it is just too much I think.

I also believe in reciprocity. I cook a lot of times of Valentine's because I'm a great cook. It costs as much or more as it would have to go out to dinner but he does things for me in return. ☺️

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• It's a bit outdated.
    That's why they have a really cool and different tradition in South Korea, where my girlfriend comes from and where I've lived for a while. In Korea, there are two holidays: valentines day and white day. On valentines day, girlfriends buy their boyfriends a gift and maybe invite them for dinner or so. On white day (which is one month later), boyfriends basically return the favor by buying a gift and maybe inviting their girlfriends for dinner. This way, each partner of a relationship has his/her day to be pampered and it's fair and equal.
    Or of course you can just do it like in my country Switzerland (and other European countries) where valentines day is not known and we don't celebrate it at all.

1|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 8

• In japan valentine day girls give things to the guys. On white day boys return the favor. That what we need to do.

0|1
    0|0
  • I'd pay for a gift for my significant other and split the bill no matter the holiday.

0|1
    0|0