When can I quit fencing?

So I am a freshman in college and I was recruited by the fencing coach for the division III school. My junior and senior year of high school I was really beginning to hate my sport so I was extremely tentative to attend this otherwise ideal school simply because I didn't want to fence. However, financially and taking into account other factors, I ended up here and felt that because the coach supposedly talked me up to admissions (I likely would have gotten in simply for academics), I am now a div III fencer. I have had practice for three weeks now (I was extremely ill last week and couldn't make it to practice), nevertheless that full week and thus far in this week have been enough for me to decide that I can't do it. I'm actually the person on my squad (gender & weapon) with the most experience (why the coach wanted me so badly), so I don't want to quit because I'm bad. I've just always put academics first and I feel like (just like my junior and senior year of high school) I'm always running from class to work to fencing to homework. I have no time for myself and don't even have time to devote to writing (my aspiration is to be an author). Similarly, my college always has really cool lectures that coincide with practice so I can never attend. I know it would be unfair for me to quit within the first semester but can I quit before the second? I'm planning on sitting down and talking to my coach and explaining this to him but is it reasonable for me to quit halfway through my first year? I dread the thought of having to do it for the rest of the semester so finishing the year off is almost unimaginable, but I don't want to be unfair. Thanks for reading this!

Updates:
1mo I am not receiving a scholarship for the record (so it won't affect financial aid)

0|0
1|2

Most Helpful Girl