How would you treat the wait staff in this situation?

Think of this scenerio, waiter or waitress brings you your drink order, and in an instant, she spills your drink on your phone, thus destroying it. How to handle it? How do you think you would respond in the heat of the moment?

1|1
16|12

Most Helpful Girl

• I'd be annoyed, but I wouldn't get angry. I would expect the restaurant to replace my phone or pay my (hypothetical) insurance fee though.

1|0
    0|0
    • If they refused to pay?

• Internally I'd be screamingly upset but externally I'd calm it down. It's a mistake. I'm not going to ask the restaurant to pay but maybe the tip I leave for that meal is $1. That's a courtesy of me not raising a stink. If the meal is over $100 I'd leave $5 or more enough to show no hard feelings but she's taking a piece of the cut. I think that's more than fair. She's paying $25 of the deductible which is $175 but it's my fault as well for not better protecting my phone. I work in insurance. I see no tip as enough. It's my job to safeguard my phone and I do. What if I had my new iPhone out with no case and the waiter pushed a plate that pushed another plate on our small table and my screen cracked? Not their problem my phone should have been on the table. You protect your phone not the waiter.

Most Helpful Guy

• I dont usually get mad at things like that. I only get mad if Im stressed and someone bothers me when I really want to be alone. Then I can snap.

Someone accidentally spilling water on my phone and showing remorse would not anger me. It would be annoying, disheartening, and inconvinent but not infuriating.

Although now that I think about it, Im pretty sure my phone is water resistent up to 6 ft or something like that so I guess it wouldn't be much of an inconvinience either.☺

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 15