How do you feel about changing diapers?

My job involves changing mannyyyyy diapers on a daily basis, lol.
I am kind of new to the job so changing diapers is still kind of "icky" to me.. especially if there's poop.
However, I see other daycare teachers who don't even flinch.
Lol I hope I become as comfortable as them...

How do you react/feel about changing diapers?

0|0
7|10

Most Helpful Guy

• I've never done it so far but I think if it's my own child, I will be totally fine with it. I don't get grossed out easily by these kinda things. My best friend works in a retirement home and there are a lot of senile people that he's got to take care of. Among other things, his job involves dressing these elderly people, undressing them, bringing them to the toilet, wiping their butt after pooping, showering them and of course cleaning up the mess if they don't make it to the bathroom on time and instead pee/poop in their bed or on the floor or in the shower etc.. Because of these people are senile and don't really get anymore what's going on, they can't always express their needs in an understandable way. One time he hold me that an old grandpa had diarrhea and my friend wasn't fast enough at guiding him to the bathroom, so the old guy literally sprayed the whole bathroom with his poop, which my friend of course had to clean up. When I heard this, I couldn't help but cringe. My friend however told me that it's not really a big deal. It's just part of the job he says. In the beginning he felt uncomfortable about doing these things or also about things like showering old women but after years of doing it, it's not even an issue anymore. If you do it a hundred times, you stop caring and feeling grossed out. So I'm pretty sure you (and I) will feel that way with changing diapers as well.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl