Do do cars really need ethonal to run?

im not good with cars I know how to change a tire oil and my mirror. I know gas only has 10% of ethonal but does gas need that ethonal to run

0|0
3|11

Most Helpful Girl

• No actually ethanol is something that only came about recently.

0|1
    0|0
    • I did a little checking ethanol added to gas started in the late 80s to the early 90s.

Most Helpful Guy

• the idea behind ethanol was that it would be a fuel made locally, so we would not be importing oil, and that it would hopefully burn cleaner than oil, and be cheaper.

A car, or anything else gasoline powered, can run on pure gasoline, or pure ethanol. Or any mixture.
    However, despite their intentions with making ethanol, the fact is it is a bad product. The more ethanol that an engine uses, the shorter its life span, compared to and equal work load under gasoline.
    It is also not nearly as cheap to produce as they hoped, and does not burn as cleanly as they hoped. And because something like a third of US farmland is devoted to corn for ethanol use, that means there is that much less farmland to put towards food, which is why some food prices have been going up.

Ethanol is a BAD PRODUCT that is used because people THINK it is better than gas, and because the amount of money that the governments dumps on states who make is it so huge that if they try to stop the flow and end ethanol, the states that grow it would absolutely lose their shit.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 2

• Ethanol is a gas "substitute" but it's not as efficient as the petroleum mix and has a propensity to clog up the fuel filter making the engine work hard and go through more gas so whether or not it's actually pollution is up for debate.

0|1
    0|0
  • Nah. Just some encouraging words will do.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 10