Do you think the billions of dollars used for forced involuntary psychiatric commitment would be better used on people who actually want treatment?

The whole pretense is garbage; locking someone up because they MIGHT hurt themselves or others.
NEWS FLASH: anyone can be a danger to themselves or others.
That's why you incarcerate people for what they actually do, not for what they might do.

• Yes
    17% (1)75% (3)40% (4)Vote
  • No
    83% (5)25% (1)60% (6)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
2|2

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm a psychiatric social worker in an emergency room. Psychotic people are not capable of making rational decision and cannot care for themselves. Homicidal people are a serious danger to others, I've recently seen a mother who tried to kill her own children. Suicidal people will definitely successfully kill themselves if they don't get to the hospital. Mental illness is not an optional illness. It's serious and life threatening just like any medical illness. These people REQUIRE emergency help. It's very naive to think that they don't need help.

0|0
    0|0
    • And I was sent to a psych ward under the pretense that I was suicidal which turned out to be false. So how are we going to prevent mentally sound people from being incarcerated huh?
      "Mental illness is not an optional illness. It's serious and life threatening just like any medical illness."
      NEWS FLASH: even people with diseases that have 100% mortality rates untreated still have the RIGHT to deny treatment.

• Show All
    • Well, the memory of my incarceration left me with PTSD which has ruined my quality of life for the past 9 years.
      But the fundamental problem with the system is this: you incarcerate people for what they might do and anyone can see how ludicrous that is. Anyone might do anything, you don't know what will happen in the future. That's why we punish people for what they do, not what they might do.