Why do most people find Tarantulas disgusting?

Among the few that actually shared my my same interest were a couple guys and I think I'm the only girl that doesn't get creeped out any hardly any living creature.

I let one of them into my arm just a couple days ago. Gotta to admit it does tickles. It think it has its own beauty. The one I held looked like this:

Why do most people find Tarantulas disgusting?

0|0
8|15

Most Helpful Guy

• There's often no accounting why people like some animals and are terrified by others. Most tarantula venom is less toxic than a bee sting (and FAR less painful).

I was dreadfully afraid of frogs when I was a kid. Now as a teacher I handle them routinely (as well as tarantulas and other "creepy" critters).

I kind of like petting tarantulas.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I love tarantulas they're so cute

1|0
    0|0
Sponsored

What Guys Said 14

• I think it might be a natural self-protection mechanism for a lot of people to be creeped out by the various kinds of "bugs" out there. That fear/disgust keeps them away from bugs, and therefore it lowers the chance that they will get bitten or stung by one that might happen to be venomous or allergy-inducing enough to seriously harm a human being.

With that said, if we step back and try to think about it on a logical and scientific level, they are creatures of this Earth just like any other creature: trying to make their way in the world, trying to get enough to eat, and trying to not get hurt themselves; that's all. People tend to think of spiders as vicious, fierce creatures, but they are actually quite fearful of lots of things -- as we are haha. You can see this by very lightly touching any common spider in your house with a stick. The great majority of them will get scared that something is touching them, and will try to run away to protect themselves: hardly the response of a fierce, vicious animal. xD

0|0
    0|0