Do people like to study because they like the education or because it will get them a job?

I've always wondered this.

0|0
3|8

Most Helpful Guy

• I can only speak for myself. I have always loved school, both as a teenager and as an adult. My dad told me once that I had been an extremely inquisitive child and I had asked way more questions than my other siblings or any other child he's ever seen. I constantly bombarded my parents with questions about the world. For example I fell in love with astronomy when I was 5, after my dad bought me a book about it. So I learned all the stats about the different planets in our solar system and the different stars and black holes etc. and I would ask him how black holes are formed or how the sun produces its energy etc.
    When I got into university, I decided to do a double major in two liberal arts fields. I will earn well in my future job that I'm aiming at and I will stay in the field but it's not why I'm studying these things. I'm studying them because I love the topics and because I love learning about them. There's always another question that pops up in my head. I'm glad my girlfriend is like that too. Oftentimes we just talk about academic things during dinner. I guess other couples would find this weird but honestly, I can't even imagine what other couples talk about. The weather? The new jeans they bought? Urgh. Already bores me to death only thinking about it.