"Reality Is An illusion Taking Place Inside Our Brains And Nowhere Else" What do you think of this quote?

I cannot process this

1|1
2|10

Most Helpful Guy

• It is absolute rubbish. I studied the arts and humanities formally under this pretense and it is demonstrably false. It is absolutely obscene postmodernist idea born from the linguistic turn of the 60s and 70s. The concept arises from people like Michel Foucault and Naom Chomsky expanding Sausarian linguistic processes well beyond their utility, into science and politics (where they do not belong).

Some idiot academics took ideas concerning the best way to translate languages, (french, latin, greek, English, danish). The best way to translate, is to substitute one word for another, or phrase for another. So these idiot academics applied the techniques to every discipline.

It's built on the premise that language is arbitrary. So because, for example, the word 'stove' in English can be substituted for the word 'komfur' in Danish, they conclude that any political or scientific concept is equally as disposable and interchangeable because it's just words. Because, they say, it all pertains to an idiosyncratic concept of language we develop on our heads. But it's not true, because you can observe in the real world what will and won't happen. There are scientific laws determining what is possible. It's not just arbitrary 'words' telling a nonsensical story. the words are used to assess observable phenomenon in the REAL WORLD.

Elementary linguistics cannot be used to dissect politics and science. It's retarded. leave the ivory tower, leave Plato's cave you cultist academics!

(The more important debate is between nominal-ism and realism but that's a discussion for another day. )

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• Someone who smokes too much weed came up with that.

1|1
    0|0

What Guys Said 9