Do I have a right to be a little upset at my parents?

Here is some background information.
My mom: great mom when I was a kid. Once I reached my teens she became abusive in every way (except sexually) she would always abandon me at the house so she can party with her loser boyfriends. Now, she critisizes my weight. Insults my appearance and insults the major I'm going into because it's not "good enough" for her. We don't talk that much anymore. She's lied about having cancer twice And other fatal diseases just so that she can get attention and want us to feel bad.

My Dad: he's a great dad. He's been there for me more than my mom has. He's really controlling, starts a lot of drama through text if we don't answer him fast enough and also puts down what I'm majoring in for college. He's very dramatic as well.

Today: My dad was having a text fit 30 minutes ago because I didn't answer sooner (it wasn't urgent but I was very busy this week) he was saying that he won't ever help me again (never asked him for help)... But it hurt me that he said that. because he's the one parent that was there... He's also saying my mom is sick. Which I call bullshit since she's lied about being sick before. I know my flaws and I point them out when I do something wrong. Whenever I try to defend myself in an argument with him he says I'm giving attitude even if my wording and tone is calm. I'm just tired of it. I really thought our relationship would be stronger once I moved out but a year later it hasn't.

Instead of my parents being encouraging and happy that I'm about to finish a degree in Medical Assisting and have 3 Additional certifications... They do the opposite. Is it the best job? Probably not. But I LOVE helping people and I've been wanting to work in a doctors office for a long time. Plus, the pay is very high in my area and cost of living isn't much.
Is it right for me to be upset at the moment?

0|0
1|3

Most Helpful Guy