Why do people not understand the 1st Amendment?

What's confusing about it? Specifically article 6. I've no idea why it gets misused so often.

0|0
1|4

Most Helpful Girl

• It may be so misunderstood because it was written in a time that didn't have as many different social implementations that we have now. Because of this, it is left to interpretation. And as all text written in a time long past, it can be interpreted in a variety of ways to suit different ideas. I highly doubt that when the Constitution was written, the founding fathers were thinking that one day it would be used to justify things such as The Westboro Baptist Church's protesting at funerals.

0|0
    0|0
    • That is true. In fact, as a literature student, I would argue that ALL texts can be interpreted in different ways, regardless of how old or young they are. If two people read a novel by T. C. Boyle or say, Cormac McCarthy, they may end up with a very different opinion and interpretation about its plot and its characters.

• @BlueCoyote exactly. From the Bible to a text message, even spoken conversation can fall prey to this.

Most Helpful Guy

What Girls Said 0

The only opinion from girls was selected the Most Helpful Opinion!

What Guys Said 3

• The first Amendment doesn't have any articles.