Have you ever yelled at a retail worker?

I work in retail, as a cashier. So naturally I'm sometimes the only worker that the people who shop where I work come in contact with. And if they're having a bad day, they want to tell me... as if I have some psychology degree or want to listen to what they have to say. (I genuinely don't care what happens in their lives, but I pretend to anyway.)

Anyway, getting yelled at has become a near daily experience. Not by my bosses, but by the customers. So far it's pretty much only been over having to ID people for alcohol sales. (My state is SUPER strict about it, and no way am I losing my job for not IDing someone). Anyway, most of the time, people are down with it. They just reach pull out their ID, hand it over, NO ISSUE. But sometimes, even if the person HAS their ID, they just don't WANT to show it. And they for some reason always think like it's my PERSONAL decision to make them take one second out of their day to look at their ID. So anyway, yeah, I get yelled at a lot for that. As do literally ALL the other cashiers. For the most part we're all pretty desensitized to it. (though occasionally someone from another department will come down to help on the registers, and when they get yelled at for it they genuinely look concerned, and freaked out, where as the regular cashiers, we just kinda stand there like "Mkay, you're yelling, I'll just stand here till you shut up and leave".

Naturally these people look ridiculous standing there yelling at someone who has literally no control over anything in the store. But how many of you gagers have actually yelled at a retail worker?

• Yes I have
    8% (4)15% (7)11% (11)Vote
  • No I haven't
    89% (47)81% (39)85% (86)Vote
  • Other (Explain in opinions please?)
    3% (2)4% (2)4% (4)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
24|26

Most Helpful Guy

• I didn't yelled, but I did call one "dumb bitch" before leaving.