When do you believe abortions are justifiable and why?

Updates:
Many answers talk about unwanted children or children who will have bad lives. Do you or why do you not say the same thing about people who are homeless with no hope in life for a better life worth living?

0|0
22|15

Most Helpful Girl

• When a person doesn't want the child, no point in putting a child in this world when they were unwanted even before they're born.

7|1
    2|1

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm not a doctor so I can't give a medial term for it, but for the most part I would say it's justifiable anytime except maybe the final trimester. People should have ultimate free will to chose what they want for their lives. A person should be allowed to get an abortion if they really don't want the child. In my eyes a baby isn't a living human until it leaves the birth canal. After all that what the birth certificate says.

I also feel that practicality should trump morality on this issue. I don't want people having babies who don't want them or can't care for them. If someone is wanting an abortion, odds are they probably should be getting one and are in no business to be parents. Forcing someone to have a baby they don't want or aren't in a position to care for is just creating a high potential for a dysfunctional child who will likely have a tough life for one reason or another. I serves society well from a practical standpoint to allow people to have abortions.

3|1
    1|0
    • Surprising that as a doctor thats when you say the child is considered a living human. Medically speaking what is the child in the last trimester in the womb?

• Asker, read his opinion again. He said he's NOT a doctor right at the beginning.