Should I tell my senior friend I like him at the beginning or end of the school year?

I'm a sophomore and my friend is a senior. We were friends and then I started falling for him. He's super nice, helpful, and protective to me. I don't really know if he likes me in that way or not, because I have a reputation for having a low self esteem... But anyways, there are tons of awesome senior girls. I feel like I can't compete. If we date, he's going to college and that won't hold up. But I don't want to not have a chance at all. So I'm debating whether to tell him at the beginning or the end of the school year... because if it turns out that he also has had feelings for me and I told him at the end and he would be moving away for college then I'd feel a lot of regret and stuff. But on the other hand I don't want to go through an awkward school year if he rejects me from the start. It's not like I can ignore him either because we have some classes together and do a few of the same clubs. I don't know what to do... I have been so bothered by this that I can't sleep and school starts in a few days.

0|0
1|1

Most Helpful Guy