If you were a teacher, would you accept a job in a school that's predominately minorities?

Knowing that there is more violence, disrespect, and lower academic interest?

• I would
    64% (7)71% (15)69% (22)Vote
  • I would not
    36% (4)29% (6)31% (10)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
6|12

Most Helpful Girl

• Its really good experience. I knew a teacher who started off in a school like that, and they intentionally picked out all the worst kids for her class. She had a rough year, but after that everything was easy in comparison. I think she works at a private school now and can't get over how good the students are

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm studying to become a teacher and I would put it this way: I don't have anything against minorities in terms of race. In fact, I couldn't care less what skin color my students have.
    However, what I do care about is their motivation to learn. I'm studying to become a teacher, not a police officer. I have absolutely no interest in dealing with petty fights between kids or students throwing around stuff in the classroom or other bullshit like that. I want to TEACH; my job will be to make my students smarter, not to make them behave better. I expect that they already know how to behave themselves when they enter my classroom, so they are ready to learn new things.