Drivers, do you speed?

So I'm a new driver. I go the limit, sometimes one or two over. But most of the time people are passing me or get pissed cause I'm "going to slow" even though I'm driving the limit. Should I speed? I don't want to get pulled over but I've also been told u should keep up with traffic. What is the protocol for this?

0|1
7|13

Most Helpful Guy

• Go at the speed you feel comfortable with. But use common sense. Don't go 10mph on a highway when everyone else is going 60mph. There is a minimum speed limit on some highways too (unless there's traffic). Anyway, drive at a comfortable speed while at the same time not disrupting the flow of traffic. When I drove I pretty much always went the max speed limit.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• Do I speed? Sometimes. It's not something I think before I get in the car and go to work "you know what 🤔 I'm going to speed today" (unless I'm on my motorbike and that's another story)

Here, the right hand lane is for overtaking, if you want to overtake a car in the middle lane or the left lane then do so, so speeding up is essential. If you want to drive in the same speed limit as it states on the road, we move over to the left lane. That's how it works in Melbourne Australia.

If people are speeding up and overtaking you, it's there issues and not yours. If they're in a hurry to get someone then let them be. Doesn't mean you should speed and risk getting your license suspended or completely taken away from you.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 12

• I'm a careful driver but even I speed on the freeway when everyone is going 75 and the limit is 60. It is honestly safer to go with the flow than to make sure that your going the limit. On street roads I always go the limit though.

0|0
    0|0
  • Most people go at least 10mph over on average, at least where I live. Cops will rarely pull over them over unless they are being reckless.

0|0
    0|0