Random question, but how good are you at determining height?

For those of you who don't know what I mean, I am referring to looking at somebody and guessing their height based on visuals alone.

I'm apparently terrible at it, because when I first started dating my boyfriend I thought he was around 5'7" and it turns out he's 5'10". Looool.

What about you guys?

0|1
14|33

Most Helpful Guy

• Big difference, haha. I'm pretty good, I have to measure ALL the time at work so I tend to make pretty accurate guesstimations.

1|0
    0|0
    • 2mo

What do you do for work?

• Show All
    • 2mo

I'm less hands on now because I'm a regional manager, but I still have to know how to school the newbies under me, haha.

• 2mo

Well there ya go. Lol.

Most Helpful Girl

What Guys Said 32

• I am terrible at it. Especially when gauging my height against others. I always feel like I am similar in height until I see a photo and I tower over them..

1|0
    0|0
  • Despite being an architect, I am absolute shit when it comes to determining distance, height or even weight (roughly). I just can't.

1|0
    0|0
  • I tend to overestimate tall people and underestimate short people. Looking up to or down to someone's eyes makes it seem like a vast difference to me.

1|0
    0|0
  • I am not bad - I am 5'9" which is close to the average so if I think of myself as the average I can work from that - I might get the exact number wrong at the extreme ends like below 5'2" and over 6'4" but I am usually in the ballpark.

1|0
    0|0
  • I'm pretty good at estimating heights that are of objects. Never been put in a situation to guess a person's height haha

1|0
    0|0
  • I'm pretty good at it when I see someone in person. My guesses are usually within 1-2 inches of their actual height.

On-line, it's a different story. For instance, I didn't know that you're only 5'2" of pure power :p

1|0
    0|0