Are YOU bad at names?

FML I work with this guy who prolly told me his name like 10 times but I can't remember it and I need to ask him for a favor 😫😫 what to do?

0|1
8|21

Most Helpful Guy

• I used to be a bouncer and later manager of a popular bar, so I had a thousand close, personal friends come out of the woodwork trying to be best buds with me so they could skip the lines and get the VIP treatment. It was so hollow and annoying, haha, but I sat there and shook hands with every idiot in town. After ten years of it, it's rendered me almost completely incapable of remembering names OR faces. I feel bad because so many times I just have zero recollection of meeting people, and they remember me and are like "uhhh... we've met." I've spent entire evenings out with people and after I'll ask my girlfriend who someone was, and she'll be like "are you kidding me? That's so-and-so, you've met them like ten times..."🙄 You really have to do something memorable to crack into my memory bank. But if I don't see you more than once every month or two, often their existence is completely erased in my memory, from randos to former acquaintances and co-workers. SO MANY people have been like "remember me? We worked together!" and I'm like "uhhhh... oh... OF COURSE! How you been, uh..."bro?", and I have to hope someone comes up that I can introduce them and force the first person to say their name😂

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm excellent with names. There are times when a person doesn't even need to tell me his/her name when being introduced to them. A lot of times I end figuring it out because I overheard a conversation where their name is mentioned or I heard someone call them. Once I hear the name, I never forget it regardless of the time span. Hell, one time I told a guy to not tell me his name. I wanted to guess it. I was pretty confident as if I genuinely knew his name. It turned out that my guess was correct from the first try!

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 20