• Yes
    37% (16)44% (19)41% (35)Vote
  • No
    63% (27)56% (24)59% (51)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

2|2
17|25

Most Helpful Girl

• No, you have to see it as a part of the life. Everybody dies so enjoy your life while you can.

1|3
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Fear of death can manifest in many different ways, direct or indirect. Examples of direct fear of death -rational or not- are the fear of heights, the fear of tight spaces, or the fear of the dark (feel free to hum along).

But mostly, death manifests itself indirectly, and those sources are the most debilitating. There's a whole school of therapists (and while I am a physicist, I will agree with them) that think anxiety about anything is a masked fear of death. The reason is this: let's say you're anxious about a petty quiz at school. You might wonder, how does that have anything to do with death? It certainly does to your primitive brain, because it follows a very complicated pattern of thought: you fail the test, drop out of your studies, you can't find a job, you can't feed yourself, you die. Our brain fails to comprehend that we are living in a society with many different safety measures in place, and that such bumps along the road are unlikely to lead to our demise. So I would say that the fear of failure is exactly the same as the fear of death.

You should read Irving Yaloms 'Overcoming the Terror of Death'. One of the best and most eye-opening reads I've ever read. Top that with Dale Carnegies 'How to Win Friends and Influence People' and I think those would be the two minimum books to accelerate your path to happiness.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 16

• I'd like to say no, but if I was faced with death I really don't know how I'd feel. I don't dwell on the thought of dying though

. I'm more scared of watching someone I love suffer while they are dying. I watched my father suffer when he died, and I'd hate to have to go through that emotional pain again. It makes you feel so helpless.