How complex would this be? (basic electronics)

How complicated a circuit would you need for this to work?

A simple, hollow cube, each side with about 25 LEDS on it (looking a little like a Rubix's cube). I would then want these light to either..

- turn off one by one in a sequence (which could be mirrored on each side or be different)

OR

- have the light turn off one by one in a random order

I was also thinking of having a timer so the speed of the sequence could be slowed or sped up. So it could go from taking 15mins for it to turn on/off, to up to about 4-5hours.

Thank you so much for any help, this would reallllly help my project out if anyone has any advice on this or knows where I could get advice on this. Thanks :D

Updates:
Thank you for all the help :) Searching those things will really help me. I have no knowledge of electronics at all, but we've been set a lighting project at university. We don't have to make any of the electronics or make it work, but we need to be able to prove that it *would* work if made in industry / had more knowledge. These links and equipment stuff really helps, thank youuuu

What's Your Opinion?

0/2000

What Girls Said 0

What Guys Said 6

Be the first girl to share opinion!

Earn 1 extra Xper Point for being the first!!

• Selected as most helpful

You can use software or hardware (like almost any other circuit).

Unfortunately I've forgotten most of my electronics.

You'll be working with some kind of shift register. Look up things like Johnson counters, ring counters, sequential logic, etc. You might even check combinational logic for a semi-random affect.

You will need some sort of clock, like an oscillator, frequency generator, or something simple like a "triple nickle" (search 555 timer).