Girlfriend Essentially Told Me To F Off?

We met in high school. Started off not wanting a relationship at all, but she was so intriguing. I fell for her pretty hard. And she was right along with me. We spent the rest of the year nearly inseparable. I graduated. She had another year left so I stuck around so I could move to the city she ended up going to college in. She finally graduates. Spend the summer together nearly every day for hours. She moved off to college. I got my stuff together and moved to an apartment close by. Two weeks later she dumps me. I was completely blindsided.

She told me she didn't have enough time for me and that it was killing her inside. She said she was terrified that since her schedule was so busy for the next four years that we would end up resenting each other. She said that I might not understand it now, but I would thank her for it later. She said she didn't cheat on me and that she doesn't have an interest in another relationship.

What I don't understand is why. She made a several conscious decisions to fill her time up. Said she wasn't going to join a sorority. Joined a sorority. Joined a work/study program. Asked and received 10 more hours a week. All that would be busy enough without her full time class schedule that involves advanced courses. Essentially she chose school over me as far as I can tell. But I can't wrap my head around what seems to simply be fear. All I want is the truth so I can have closure and move on with my life. All I want for her is to be happy.