How long will it take to get over my emotionally abusive first love, that I am STILL in love with?

I met my ex a year ago at University and dated for a little over 11 months. He was perfect at the start, we were inseparable/obsessed with each other, to the point our friendship circles suffered. Nothing mattered though, only each other. I was a commitmentphobe before meeting him and I felt safe enough to fall, head over heels. I graduated, and he is continuing his studies currently. I travelled 100 mile roundtrips to be with him every week through Summer and now.

But 2 months ago he began to change. He would argue with me, threaten me, tell me I cannot find anyone better than him. It scared me. He would break things in rage. In the end I couldn't open up anymore in fear it would spark up a rage. His latest rage which lead to our break up involved him wishing the worst things would happen to me, throwing bar stools around, calling me a deluded, twisted, psychotic head case who spreads evil amongst everyone. He told me all that I deserve is for everyone to block and delete me from their lives because I am a disgusting little girl worth nothing. He wouldn't let me speak anymore. I was totally controlled. I would cry, wail and it wouldn't affect him. He would never apologise either and instead, blame his rages on me, saying that I deserved everything I got because "it's not his fault I was acting like a psychotic hormonal mess".

Back when he fell in love with me, he told me he was the luckiest man alive, I felt I was the luckiest woman alive, too. I still did. I'd do anything for him. He asked me to mother him, and I said of course, anything. He doesn't think he's changed at all.

We broke up - fourth break up in 2 months. But this time is for good - I began feeling damaged by the words he would call me. But I miss him. I think I became codependent on him, and depend on him for my happiness.