My girlfriend is over the top paranoid about me leaving her?

I don't know how to explain it. I'm sure this is somewhat common. We've been together for a year and a half. When we started this relationship she was mildly accusing me of loving my ex's, and being with other women. I'm a flirt by nature. I don't realize I do it until someone tells me. I'm a car salesman, and I feel like this "flirting" is part of my charismatic personality that has brought me a lot of success in the business.

I don't know what to do. She's in college still, and I'm done school and in the working force. I'm 22, she's 20. We somewhat work opposite shifts. I work 10 hour days from 8am until 6pm. She starts classes at 930 and is finished around 1. Then works from 5pm until 930pm. She's convinced that while I'm at work, I'm trying to get other women. She's convinced that while she's at work instead of being in our apartment I'm out with other women.

I've cut off a lot of my social life because of her paranoia. I haven't spent much time with many of my male friends, and I haven't seen many female friends in almost a year now. I use to enjoy going to the bars with my friends before her, and that's died off.

I guess to end this long story... how do I get her to be normal with me? She's progressively gotten worse as time goes on. I love her very much and want to be patient with her, but I'm reaching my limit on how far she can push me and accuse me.

0|0

Have an opinion?

What Girls Said 2

• The best thing I could tell you to do, is to sit down with her and tell her how much you really care about her, and how you'd never wish to hurt her by being with someone while you're with her.

It's dangerous to cut off your entire social life for her, no matter how much you love her. You need to have a balance of friends as well as a love life. So I'd say to just talk to her.

Hopefully she'll start to realize that she can trust you! :)

0|0
    0|0