Should I leave ex alone?

About 3 weeks ago I got in a car accident in my (now ex) boyfriend's car. He was letting me drive/practice so I can get my license. Well as I said it was an accident and I am a very safe driver and well he told me to merge over into the neighboring lane to the right and he said it was clear. Well I attempted to merge over and BAM! Out of nowhere this van side swipes me and I end up hitting the other driver.

Well long story short he thought he didn't have insurance on his car and he has to pay for the expenses of the car getting fixed on his own (he has to pay for the repairs for his car as well). I told him that I would help him but he declined. Over time he became increasingly more angrier and more withdrawn from me. I told him how sorry I was and that I wish this wouldn't have happened. Well he said he wasn't angry with me but I know that he was. He doesn't call or text me much anymore at the most I would hear from him once every 3 days or so. Well I tried giving him encouraging words but he would not accept. I tried to reach out to him emotionally, he pushed me away kept saying that I don't understand.

And not long ago I broke up with him. I tried to tell him that I will be there for him through thick and through thin but he didn't want to hear any of that either! He kept snapping at me and then went on to say that he thinks he may be going crazy. He is extremely angry right now, he is going through a lot at home and regarding the car accident thing and not to mention his own supervisor at work is trying to get him fired.

He told me that he feels all alone in this. I tried to reach out to him but he doesn't want a "connection" as he put it.