What's the deal? Suddenly doesn't want to hang out?

Im a freshman in college. My ex girlfriend from 11th grade that moved away is now back in my area. I'm on spring break right now and we were supposed to hang out this weekend but she suddenly texted me to hang out today, then changed her mind the next day I guess.

Her: hey. (: want to hang out?

Me: Tomorrow?

Her: sure. (:

Me: When are you gonna be around?

Her: all day. (:

Me: OK well I'm spending the night with my grandparents and I should be back sometime early tomorrow afternoon, so I'll let you know :)

Her: alrighty. (:

Today at like 2pm:

Me: Hey, been kind of busy. Are you good for sometime after dinner maybe 7pm?

Her: I don't think I'll be able to today .

Me: When do you want to then?

She never replied so I'm kinda confused. what's going on?

Most Helpful Girl

• There could be many reasons why she cancelled on you. Some that come to mind are:

1) She got busy and couldn't respond back and then forgot about it

2) She was annoyed at you for something

3) She was in a bad mood and didn't feel like she would be good company for you

4) Something came up, like an emergency or illness

Only she really knows why she cancelled. The thing to remember is that you don't know the whole story so it's best not to jump to any conclusions. I know that's hard to do sometimes. I'm sure in a few days you'll know why she cancelled. If you don't, well then know you know that it might not be a good idea to reconnect. I wish you the best of luck!

Have an opinion?

What Girls Said 5

• well, maybe she just didn't want to hang out so late? Or maybe something happened, like a family emergency, or something like that? I'd say give her some time.

• Maybe she couldn't do the nighttime. You told her you'd be ready in the early afternoon, then YOU changed the plans.

My guess is: She might be disappointed and annoyed. Either way, it'll pass.