Boyfriend has children, one of whom is difficult- what do I do?

I have been with my boyfriend for several years and accept he has children; I have one of my own. However, his ex has been very difficult in the fact that she has not accepted me. For example, the first summer his kids came to stay with us, she put the kids between us and was telling them, "Don't let her touch you!" As if I had a disease or something. Also, she would ask them what I looked like and compare herself to me in front of them. Seem a little immature? I think so too. I love my boyfriend and we have been though a lot- like any relationship. I know with time, his ex will accept me. However, I believe it has done some damage to the children. The littlest one (4 years old), is quite difficult and constantly needs supervision. I am a substitute teacher for elementary school and I have a lot of patience. But, I believe the mother (ex) has talked badly about me because the little one is VERY disgruntled toward me. I don't know what to do! I am willing to do anything because I want a good foundation with these children because I plan on being in my boyfriend's life for the long-haul. Any advise would be GREATLY appreciated- thank you for your time in reading and answering my question.

If you answer my question, I will answer yours! :D

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 0

Be the first guy to share an opinion
and earn 1 more Xper point!

What Girls Said 1

• First of all, it's sad that the child's mother has put you in this sort of position. I have a four year old myself, and I know how stubborn they can be when they dislike someone. With that being said, there are definitely ways to help him warm up.