Am I just a rebound? Does he want to be with me? What is he thinking?

I know this is long, but it's all relevant.

So, about a year and a half ago, I met this guy through a friend when she visited him at his campus job. He was a senior with a girlfriend of one 1/2 years at the time, and I was a freshman. We had a weird connection and ended up talking for hours, but I dismissed it as him just being a nice guy because he had a serious girlfriend. That was the only time we hung out, until...

He texted me two months ago just to catch up, and then one thing led to another, and our awesome connection made itself known again.

Since he'd broken up with his girlfriend 6 weeks before he texted me, we made plans to see each other. When we hung out, we moved a little fast, but I'd never had a better date- and he even said the same thing himself. He also admitted that he hadn't stopped thinking about me since the moment he met me, and that he had to make an effort to force me out of his mind when he and his ex were still together.

We texted nonstop for a week afterward, and because his ex and I have some of the same friends, she heard that we were talking and got pissed. She apparently knew about this guy's crush on me. So, she tried to get back with him, and he was torn as to what to do, so I let him go.

Two weeks later, he called me to explain what happened, and that he was so sorry for ever doing that to me, and that he still really wanted to be friends. But somehow in a text conversation a few days later, he said that he wants to be more than friends; that whenever he got back with his ex, he was so disappointed because he'd had such a better time with me and still couldn't stop thinking about me, and that he called so he could see if we could salvage our relationship.