Why do guys always suddenly stop calling me?

I'm a 21-year-old female college student who doesn't really fall into the hard-partying, hookup-seeking stereotype of many other people my age. I don't judge other people for doing what they do, but I myself am an introvert with a small circle of friends (I really only party because I love being with my friends, who do).

So far I have only had one boyfriend, & that relationship was short-lived (he dumped me because he thought there was "no spark between us" & he "wasn't ready for a relationship", but he's still physically attracted to me). I'm not trying to sound conceited, but I get more than my share of male attention. Guys come on to me quite a lot, & on the rare occasions that I find them attractive - as in, seemingly smart & mature; not just "hot" - I give them my number. For a while things go well. They show all the interest in the world in me, calling & texting. I hardly have to flirt or do any work. They tell me that they like how I seem "different" from other girls they've known.

Then, once we hang out in person one time, or sometimes twice - but never more than that - all of their attention just abruptly stops. The ONLY guy this hasn't happened with within the last 2 years was my ex-boyfriend. Every other guy has done this to me, leaving me to wonder what happened, & never giving me an answer. Sometimes I find out that they actually went back to old girlfriends or flings, or even began dating someone new. Other times they're still single, they just obviously want nothing to do with me.