Do you think it's possible to take a f***-friend type of relationship to the next level?

I've been talking to this guy for almost five years, on and off. I'm 22, he's 26. Initially, he pursued me. We spent a lot of time together, hit it off, things were great but just casual. I wanted to have sex after about three months, he actually kinda waved it off. Another month of hanging out, I had some feelings for him, and I finally worked up enough guts to broach the subject with him. His answer was that he liked me too, he could see us being something more serious, but he hated my friends and the condition to us being together would involve me being willing to cut off all my friends. I'd already been through a relationship where that had happened to me and it didn't end well, so I chose to keep my friends. He shrugged it off, but we didn't talk for two months or so,

Two months later he called me, and we were hanging out like before. Finally, he invited me to a Valentine's day party, and things got intimate for the first time. The relationship continued with sporadic phone calls and hanging out, not always having sex, but maybe half the time something happened. I went away to college, he offered to visit me a few times, but I was always busy or sick...

Halfway through my first year, he let me know he got a serious girlfriend, I wished him the best of luck, and the contact lessened. But when I had an abusive boyfriend and called him for advice, he listened. When he broke up with his girlfriend for a bit after a year and a half, he called me and stopped by me to say hello and get a drink. They got back together, I started dating someone else for a little while, then we both ended up single and he reached out.