Boyfriend is breaking up with me because he thinks I don't want kids...

Basically my boyfriend via text message said that he doesn't realistically see a future together because in his mind he doesn't think I want kids and that he's ready to settle down and have children in the next couple of years.

Now I'm in my 3rd year of Uni and have a deadline this coming Friday which now I'm having difficulty concentrating on, if I wasn't stressed already I feel incredibly stressed now. The odd thing is he made this assumption without even asking me what my view is on it, and yes I'm not desperate to have children because well... I'm in my bloody final year of Uni, but it is something I want, I would like to settle down and have a family at some point, probably before I'm thirty. But to me I don't think anyone should be considering children before they have a solid relationship, a home and an income... and how can I now have children with someone at the drop of a hat would just leave me.

He goes on about how much he cares and likes me, but he wants to settle down and he doesn't think I'm ready, I don't understand why this couldn't of waited until after my deadline or at least sat down to a proper discussion, but no I get text message... great.

We don't even live together and he is still living with his mother (he recently had to move back in) also we've been together a grand total of 4/5 months.

I am quite upset because I feel like I'm being punished for wanting to chase an education and be steady before kids, I want to know I have a partner so stands by me. When I told him that yes I do want kids at some point, he starting going on how he doesn't want to wait for me to chase a career and that he doesn't want to move if I find a job in another city. I need a career, I need to have an income... because even if you did have a child with someone there is no guarantee they'll stay, I need to be self supportive.