Why won't he commit to me?

I have been talking to a guy on and off for about 6 months now. In the beginning, he was texting me constantly and wanting to see me a lot. From the start he said he didn't want a relationship, I was fine with this, because it was just the beginning. And then one day he told me when we were hooking up that he liked me. We went on a few dates, I met his roommates, everything seemed to be going well. A lot of our hangouts were sleepovers, but I didn't mind because we are both busy seniors in college. He even showed up at my apt one night drunk and I was sober, as we were going to bed, he stated how much he fucking loved me. I didn't think much of it. So a month went by, and I slowly started to notice him draw back. I confronted him about it, and he told me like wants to keep seeing me, but couldn't really give me a straight answer when I asked him about our future. A month goes by and he starts to draw back again. I asked him why and he said that he definitely likes me, but doesn't have the intentions of dating anyone. He said we've been talking for so long we would have to become serious, and he didn't want that. A month goes by of no contact and he wishes me a happy birthday. He starts texting me again and saying misses me and wants to meet up for lunch or dinner. So we did, and the whole night he was complimenting me, saying how much he missed holding me, kissing me, etc. But when I asked him if he felt differently about the relationship aspect, he told me he goes back and forth about wanting one. I said why? He said he didn't know. He knows he likes me and he's attracted to me. He said he wanted to go out on a date with me again. A few days go by, and he continues to reach out to me and see me. But slowly once again, I am noticing him back off. His friend from home died last week, so I don't feel comfortable asking him right now. But it's bothering me what he's thinking.. My only conclusion is he doesn't like me enough to date me or he